COVID-19 Resource Page
MCA AND THE MN DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH FOLLOW
THE CDC RULES & REGULATIONS
COVID UPDATE 10.7.22 – Healthcare facilities are not included in the county mask requirement. The CDC states for “Healthcare Facilities: Prevention actions in healthcare facilities are not linked to COVID-19 Community Levels.”
Frequently Asked Questions About the Requirement to Wear Face Coverings
- As of June 30, 2021, there is no longer a statewide requirement to wear face coverings in most settings. However, other federal, state, or local laws may require face coverings in some settings, and businesses may set their own requirements.
- Currently, there have been no changes to the masking requirements in any healthcare settings. Information about healthcare worker masking recommendations can be found here.
- Can Chiropractors Issue a Mask Exemption? If one of your patients asks you for a mask exemption and you give them one, you will need to have the following in case someone files a complaint against you:
- The knowledge and training to diagnose the patient with something that would need the exemption and be able to prove you have that knowledge.
- You will have to have chiropractic patient records showing the diagnosis and need for the exemption.
- Since you are a chiropractor, the patient records should show chiropractic need, or you may be considered to be practicing outside of the Scope of Chiropractic.
Please be aware that even if you have the above, and give the patient the exemption, there is no requirement for any establishment to accept it. Please see the Below State of Minnesota Statute, 148.08 to see the legal authority you have regarding signing health records.
148.08 RULES: “Chiropractors shall be subject to the same rules and regulations, both municipal and state, that govern other licensed doctors or physicians in the control of contagious and infectious diseases, and shall be entitled to sign health and death records, and to all rights and privileges of other doctors or physicians in all matters…” READ MORE
MN Department of Health: Health Care: COVID-19
October 13, 2022: Situation Update for COVID-19
The MDH Situation Update includes Minnesota information on:
Cases and Variants Hospitalization and Capacity Mortality (Deaths) Vaccine Data
Vaccine Breakthrough Data Setting Specific Data Situational Awareness
All data is preliminary and may change as cases are investigated.
Interim Guidance for Managing Healthcare Personnel with SARS-CoV-2 Infection or Exposure to SARS-CoV-2
Updated September 2, 2022 by the CDC
Emergency Paid Sick Leave
If you have less than 500 employees, you are required to provide paid sick leave to employees who are unable to work due to Covid-19. The sick leave is equivalent to normal hours worked (full-time = 80 hours; part-time average number of hours) for 2-weeks. This applies to any time off, due to Covid-19, during April 1, 2020 – March 31, 2021. This is required regardless of length of employment.
The pay is up to $511 per day with a $5,110 overall limit for an employee directly affected by the virus and up to $200 per day with a $2,000 overall limit for an employee that is a caregiver.
The IRS does credit the total amount you pay to employees for Emergency Paid Sick Leave (except employees’ portion of Social Security). These amounts will need to be classified differently on the form 941, so you can get the credit.
Employees who qualify for this option are:
- The employee is subject to a federal, state, or local quarantine or isolation order related to COVID-19
- The employee has been advised by a health care provider to self-quarantine due to concerns related to COVID-19
- The employee is experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 and seeking medical diagnosis from a health care provider
- The employee is caring for an individual who is subject to a federal, state, or local quarantine or isolation order related to COVID-19 or has been advised by a health care provider to self-quarantine due to concerns related to COVID-19
- The employee is caring for a son or daughter whose school or place of care is closed, or the childcare provider is unavailable for reasons related to COVID-19. A school is considered closed if the physical location is closed. Therefore, if instruction is only being provided online, the school is considered closed for purposes of providing paid leave (DOL FFCRA FAQ 70)
Emergency Family and Medical Leave Act
If you have less than 500 employees, but more than 50, you are required to provide the Expanded EFMLA. If you have less than 50 employees, you can still utilize this and receive the credits. The compensation is two-thirds of the employees pay and cannot exceed $200 per day and $10,000 in the aggregate per employee. The employee must be with your company for at least 30 days.
Employees qualify for this option if they are caring for a son or daughter whose school or place of care is closed, or the childcare provider is unavailable for reasons related to COVID-19. A school is considered closed if the physical location is closed. Therefore, if instruction is only being provided online, the school is considered closed for purposes of providing paid leave (DOL FFCRA FAQ 70)
The IRS does credit the total amount you pay to employees for Expanded Emergency Family and Medical Leave Act (except employees’ portion or Social Security), up to the $200 per day and $10,000 per employee limit. These amounts will need to be classified differently on the form 941, so you can get the credit.
COVID-19 Work Guidelines
|No Known Exposure||
|Exposure (Known contact while unmasked)||
|Exposure (known with mask wearing)||
|Exposure (Pending Testing)
On employee themselves
|Exposure (Negative Test)||
|Exposure (Positive Test)||
MCA recommends following CDC guidelines for stay-at-work and return-to-work criteria. As a healthcare provider, we have obligation and responsibility to be here for those in our communities in need of care.
American Chiropractic Association
- COVID-19 Information for Minnesotans
- Health Care: Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)
- COVID-19 (Coronavirus) and Unemployment Insurance
- Governor Walz and Lt. Governor Flanagan Newsroom
- COVID-19, sick leave and unemployment insurance in Minnesota: What workers need to know
- COVID-19 (Coronavirus) and Unemployment Benefits
- MN Dept. of Revenue – Response to COVID-19